so many choices to make..

aaaaaagh.. okay, this is my first post here, dan binuuun maw ngebahas apah..

let see let see, akhirnya memutuskan untuk pake WP juga sebagai tempat nge-blog, dah sempet daftar ke LJ, tapi sistemnya yang ada friend2 semacam FB gitu membuatku malas.

Kenapa begitu banyak pilihan yaach..?? buat blogging ada Blogger.com, WP, LJ, tumblr, ga keitung.. in the end i chose WP’s clean interface over the others, i hope I made the right choice. Now then, the next thing im still undecided is browser. I could choose QTWeb, K-Meleon or Firefox for my windows box. Ive been using QTWeb for some time, but it had a problem with wordpress redirects. And then there’s K-Meleon, it’s nice,  WP works (infact im using K-Meleon to post this one), but i have yet to see any advantage over the others. And then there’s Firefox. I guess it’s still the best, with dozens of important addons, works for every website, nice history autocomplete in the toolbar. I just wished it has a better keyboard interface. Luckily I found vimperator for firefox, I really like it’s vi-like interface (duh, it’s called vimperator), just need a little practice a bit. The thing with vimperator is that the status bar is missing if i went to fullscreen mode (F11)
, havent googled for it though, perhaps it’s fixable. Now, in then, after trying QTWeb and K-Meleon, i think im going back to firefox. Oh Well.

So what is there left for me to choose. Hmm, My Linux Box of course.. I wanted to install Arch, but I have to wait for a new harddisk first, cos i want a backup of my kubuntu install, just in case. Now, im still confused over the installation process, had been trying to install using qemu, but since the hardware is different, i guess there isn’t much point in it then. Since my laptop’s ethernet fried, then I’ll need to install a broadcom-wl driver for it. I have downloaded the files, and read the instructions, it’s only a matter of trying it for real. And then there’s wpa_supplicant, using wpa_supplicant is very easy actually, i had expected it to be harder. I tried using wpa_supplicant to configure my wireless after turning off the nm-applet (on kubuntu). Some tutorials said to enter lots of things in the conf, but it did not work if i do that. Perhaps my setup need different configuration. And then I read the docs, decided to try the default settings, so I only entered ESSID and key, and it worked like a charm. I hope it would be that smooth when I install arch later.

That reminds me, I need to make a checklist of things to do after installing arch.

Install:

Vim

Mutt

a WM (dwm, wmii, awesome, still undecided)

a filemanager (mc, vifm, hmm.. what should i use)

irssi

finch, or bitlbee if there’s a fix for ym protocol 16

aria2c

pure-ftp

comix, or other picture browser (really liked gwenview, but im trying to avoid kdelibs)

Firefox with vimperator, downthemall, adblockplus, twitterfox, identifox

python

ruby for dependencies (i dont remember though)

QT, GTK

lots of VCS/DVCS (hg, git, bzr, svn, cvs. or i might not need cvs)

office suite (OO.o i think)

on my kubuntu installation i had installed koffice, i wanted to try krita and karbon, but already used to gimp and inkscape, so i havent had the chance to try them. I wonder if i’ll install koffice again or not. but since im not going to use kde then i’ll try not to install the kdelibs.

Hmm, I think that’s enough for now. Im going to practice using vimperator again.. huaahahahha..

Leave a Reply

